Skip Navigation

Candidates in 2005 ASA Election

The following members were candidates in the 2005 ASA election:

Lawrence D. Bobo, Stanford University
Frances Fox Piven, City University of New York

Vice President-Elect:
Bonnie Thornton Dill, University of Maryland
Diane Vaughan, Boston College

Council Members-at-Large:
Judith D. Auerbach, American Foundation for AIDS Research
Peter Conrad, Brandeis University
Evelyn Nakano Glenn, University of California – Berkeley
Carol A. Jenkins, Glendale Community College
Michèle Lamont, Harvard University
Jane D. McLeod, Indiana University
Gay Seidman, University of Wisconsin – Madison
Donald Tomaskovic-Devey, North Carolina State University

Publications Committee:
Kathryn Edin, University of Pennsylvania
Michael Hout, University of California – Berkeley
Verna Keith, Arizona State University
Mitchell L. Stevens, New York University

Committee on Nominations:
Jorge Chapa, Indiana University
Daniel B. Cornfield, Vanderbilt University
Nancy DiTomaso, Rutgers University
Susan J. Ferguson, Grinnell College
Glenn Firebaugh, Penn State University
Elizabeth Higginbotham, University of Delaware
Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo, University of Southern California
Sharon Lee, Portland State University
Mary Osirim, Bryn Mawr

Committee on Committees
Jeffrey Chin, LeMoyne College
Lora Bex Lempert, University of Michigan, Dearborn
Debra Umberson, University of Texas, Austin
Sarah Willie, Swarthmore College


In addition to the candidates listed above, student members of the Association will be elected members to the Student Forum Advisory Board (SFAB). Candidates for seats on the Student Forum Advisory Board are:

Melissa Barnett, Florida State University
Val Episcopo, Syracuse University
Brian Philip Hinote, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Daina Cheyenne Harvey, Rutgers University
Holly M. Nagy, York University
David J. Russell, Florida State University
Tosha Marie Smith
Van C. Tran, Harvard University
Robb Willer, Cornell University

Questions about the candidates, ballots, or any other election matter may be directed to