ASA Press Releases
Contact: Jackie Cooper or Lee Herring
Phone: (202) 247-9871

RSS Feed
Subscribe to ASA News Updates
Follow us on Twitter


July 28, 2003


Washington, DC – The American Sociological Association (ASA) is pleased to announce the winners of the ASA Awards for 2003. The awards will be presented in a ceremony at the Association’s Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, on Sunday, August 17th at 4:30 p.m. The Awards Ceremony will immediately precede the formal address of ASA President William T. Bielby, University of California-Santa Barbara. The awards are the highest honor that the Association confers. Selections are made by committees directly appointed by the ASA Council. The ASA award winners for 2003 are:

Career of Distinguished Scholarship Award: Immanuel Wallerstein (Yale University)

This annual award honors a scholar who has shown outstanding commitment to the profession of sociology and whose cumulative work has contributed in important ways to the advancement of the discipline. The body of lifetime work may include theoretical and/or methodological contributions, particularly work that substantially reorients the field in general or a particular subfield.

Distinguished Scholarly Publication Award: Richard Lachmann (State University of New York-Albany) for his book, Capitalists in Spite of Themselves: Elite Conflict and Economic Transitions in Early Modern Europe (Oxford University Press, 2000)

This annual award is given for a single book or monograph published in the three preceding calendar years. The winner of this award gives the Sorokin Lecture at a meeting of a regional or state sociological association.

Distinguished Contributions to Teaching Award: Michael Burawoy (University of California-Berkeley) and Robert Hauser (University of Wisconsin-Madison)

This award is given annually to honor outstanding contributions to the undergraduate and/or graduate teaching and learning of sociology which improve the quality of teaching. The award may recognize either a career contribution or a specific product.

Distinguished Career Award for the Practice of Sociology
: Lewis Yablonsky (California State University-Northridge)
This annual award honors outstanding contributions to sociological practice. The award may recognize work that has facilitated or served as a model for the work of others, work that has significantly advanced the utility of one or more specialty areas in sociology and, by so doing, has elevated the professional status or public image of the field as whole, or work that has been honored or widely recognized outside the discipline for its significant impacts, particularly in advancing human welfare.

Jessie Bernard Award
: Cynthia Fuchs Epstein (CUNY-Graduate Center)
The Jessie Bernard Award is given annually in recognition of scholarly work that has enlarged the horizons of sociology to encompass fully the role of women in society. The contribution may be in empirical research, theory, or methodology. It may be for an exceptional single work, several pieces of work, or significant cumulative work done throughout a professional career.

DuBois-Johnson-Frazier Award
: John Moland, Jr. (Alabama State University, Retired)
This annual award honors the intellectual traditions of W.E.B. DuBois, Charles S. Johnson, and E. Franklin Frazier. The award is given for either a lifetime of research, teaching, and service to the community, or to an academic institution for its work in assisting the development of scholarly efforts in this tradition.

Dissertation Award
: Devah Pager (Northwestern University) for her dissertation, The Mark of a Criminal Record (University of Wisconsin-Madison, PhD, 2002)
The Dissertation Award honors the best PhD dissertation for a calendar year from among those submitted by advisors and mentors in the discipline. The Dissertation Award for 2003 is awarded for the best dissertation defended during calendar year 2002.

# # #

About the American Sociological Association
The American Sociological Association (, founded in 1905, is a non-profit membership association dedicated to serving sociologists in their work, advancing sociology as a science and profession, and promoting the contributions to and use of sociology by society.