Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Sociology of Law Awards
http://www.asanet.org/sections/law_awards.cfm

Sociology of Law Call for Awards Nominee Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws

Distinguished Book Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2014 Distinguished Book Award, recognizing an outstanding book published between 2012 and 2014 in the sociology of law. We accept nominations from authors, editors, publishers, and other section members. To nominate a book, please include a brief (no more than one page) electronic comment on its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2014. Please submit materials (including a hard copy of the book) to each committee member: Mary Vogel, Chair, Sociology of Law Distinguished Book Award Committee, mary.vogel@manchester.ac.uk, Williamson Building-4.22, School of Law, U. of Manchester, Manchester M13 9PL, ENGLAND; Paul Colomy, Department of Sociology & Criminology, Sturm Hall, Room 446, 2000 E Asbury Ave, MSC 0942, Denver, CO 80208, pcolomy@du.edu, Denver University; Ruth Horwitz, New York University, 295 Lafayette St., 4th Floor, New York, NY 10012, rh40@nyu.edu. Frank Hirtz, UC Davis, One Shields Avenue, Department of Human and Community Development, Davis, CA 95616.

 

Krivo-Peterson Mentoring Award

The Peterson-Krivo Mentoring Award is awarded every two years by the Crime, Law, Deviance and the Sociology of Law Sections of the ASA. It was established to recognize sustained work and/or innovative approaches in the service of facilitating the success of undergraduate students, graduate students, and/or other scholars, particularly younger scholars. Members of either section are invited to nominate themselves or others by submitting the nominee's CV, a letter describing the nominee's qualifications for the award, and any supporting material that would assist the award committee in assessing the nominee's suitability for the award.

The 2014 Peterson-Krivo Mentoring Award Committee is chaired by Rosemary Gartner, rosemary.gartner@utoronto.ca, to whom nomination materials should be sent by (March 1st, 2014). Other members of the committee include Sara Wakefield, sara.wakefield@rutgers.edu, and John Galliher, galliherj@missouri.edu.

 

Distinguished Article Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2014 Distinguished Article Award, recognizing an outstanding article published between 2012 and 2014 in the sociology of law. We accept nominations from authors and other section members. To nominate an article, please include a brief (no more than one page) electronic comment on its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2014. Please email materials (including the article) to each committee member: Danielle Rudes, Chair, Sociology of Law Distinguished Article Award Committee, drudes@gmu.edu; Sarah D. Goodrum, sarah.goodrum@colorado.edu; Frank Munger, fmunger@nyls.edu; and Tiffany Bergin, tbergin@kent.edu.

 

Graduate Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2014 Graduate Student Paper Award, recognizing an outstanding paper written between 2012 and 2014 in the sociology of law. The first author must have been a graduate student when the piece was written. Entries should be double-spaced and no longer than 35 pages long (including tables, appendices, and references). We accept nominations from authors, faculty advisors, and other section members. To nominate a paper, please include a brief (no more than one page) comment on its contributions to the field. The dead-line is March 1, 2014. Please email materials (including the paper) to each committee member: Erik Larson, Chair, Graduate Student Paper Award Chair Committee, larsone@macalester.edu; Leisy Abrego, abrego@ucla.edu; Scott Phillips, scott.phillips@du.edu;

 

Undergraduate Student Paper Award

The Sociology of Law Section solicits nominations for the 2014 Undergraduate Student Paper Award, recognizing an outstanding paper written between 2012 and 2014 in the sociology of law. The first author must have been an undergraduate student when the piece was written. Entries should be double-spaced and no longer than 35 pages long (including tables, appendices, and references). We accept nominations from authors, faculty advisors, and other section members. To nominate a paper, please include a brief (one page max.) comment on its contributions to the field. The deadline is March 1, 2014.

Please email materials (including the paper) to each committee member: Brett Burkhardt, Sociology of Law Undergraduate Student Paper Award Chair, brett.burkhardt@oregonstate.edu; Justine Tinkler, jtinkler@uga.edu; Richard Weisman, rweisman@yorku.ca.  

All winners will be recognized at the 2014 ASA Annual Meeting in New York City.

See http://www.asanet.org/sections/law_awards.cfm for more information

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS