Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: 2014 Annual Meting Program Committee

2014 Annual Meeting Logo

2014 Annual Meeting Program Committee

The Program Committee for the ASA Annual Meeting usually consists of twelve people, four officers and eight appointed members, as outlined below. In years where there is a Secretary-Elect, that person shadows the Secretary and participates in Program Committee meetings.

President-Elect, Vice President-Elect, Secretary, Executive Officer, two carry-over members from the previous year's Program Committee, and six members nominated by the President-Elect and approved by ASA Council.

Each Program Committee plans only one Annual Meeting. The committee is constituted in August two years in advance of the meeting for which it is responsible, and it is charged with developing a timely program that will service the diverse discipline of sociology, enhance the meeting theme chosen by the President-Elect, and broaden participation by sociologists in the US and around the world.

Members of the Program Committee for the 2014 Annual Meeting are:

Annette Lareau

President and Committee Chair

University of Pennsylvania

Bruce G. Carruthers

Northwestern University

Marianne Cooper

Stanford University

Joanna Dreby

State University of New York-Albany

Michael Hout

University of California-Berkeley

Mary E. Pattillo

Northwestern University

Elliot Weininger

State University of New York-Brockport

Kjersten Bunker-Whittington

Reed College



Mary Romero

Arizona State University

Brian Powell

Vice President
Indiana University

Sally T. Hillsman

Executive Officer
American Sociological Association