Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Community and Urban Sociology

Section on Community and Urban Sociology

Section Intro | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

Mission Statement

Members of the Section on Community and Urban Sociology explore new social theory and develop empirical research on groups living, working, and communicating across geographical boundaries, including cities, suburbs, and rural areas, as well as electronic communities and other spaces.

Section Officers 2014-2015

Chair: Ray Hutchison, Univ. of Wisconsin-Green Bay
Chair-Elect: Kevin Fox Gotham Tulane University
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Jacob S. Rugh, Brigham Young University 2017

Section Council

Derek S. Hyra, Virginia Tech 2015
Kesha S. Moore, Drew University 2015
John Iceland, Penn State University 2016
Jeffrey M. Timberlake, University of Cincinnati 2016
Michael D.M. Bader, American University 2017
Nicole P. Marwell, Baruch College/CUNY 2017

Publications Committee

Bruce D. Haynes, University of California- Davis 2015
Deirdre Aine Oakley, Georgia State University 2015
Marcus L. Britton, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 2016
Laura M. Tach, Cornell University 2016
Chenoa Flippen, University of Pennsylvania 2017
Yuki Kato, Tulane University 2017
Student Representative:Jennifer Parker, Penn State University 2015

Membership Committee:

Chair: Andrew Deener, University of Connecticut
Robert Adelman, SUNY Buffalo, 
Kevin Fox Gotham, Tulane University  
Jennifer Darrah-Okike, Harvard University   
Jerome Hodos, Franklin and Marshall College

CUSS  Archives:  Deirdre Oakley, Georgia State University
CUSS Newsletter:  William Holt,  Southern Connecticut State University  
CUSS Webmaster:  Ray Hutchison,  University of Wisconsin-Green Bay