Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on International Migration

Section on International Migration

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on International Migration is to stimulate, promote, and reward the development of original theory and research on international migration. By providing a forum for the exchange of ideas and information, the Section aims to contribute to scholarly collaboration and to a comprehensive understanding of the causes and consequences of international migration, including the incorporation of immigrants in receiving societies.

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair Jacqueline M. Hagan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chair-Elect Jennifer Lee, University of California, Irvine
Past Chair Katharine Donato, Vanderbilt University
Secretary/Treasurer Sergio Chavez, Rice University 2016

Section Council

Elizabeth Fussell, Washington State University 2016
Dina G. Okamoto, Indiana University 2016
Tanya Maria Golash-Boza, University of California, Merced 2017
Emilio A. Parrado, University of Pennsylvania 2017
Van Tran, Columbia University, 2018
Prema Kurien, Syracuse University, 2018