Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Political Sociology

Section on Political Sociology

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Political Sociology is to promote the scholarly research and professional activities of those concerned with a sociological understanding of political phenomena. The phrase "sociological understanding" is interpreted to encompass the wide variety of theoretical and associated methodological approaches with which sociologists attempt to describe and explain social phenomena. The phrase "political phenomena" is interpreted to encompass the wide variety of topics that sociologists investigate, including social and cultural bases of power and authority.

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair: Gianpaolo Baiocchi, NYU
Chair-Elect: Rhys H. Williams, Loyola University Chicago
Past Chair: Isaac William Martin, University of California San Diego
Secretary/Treasurer: Cedric de Leon, Providence College 2018

Section Council

Gregory Hooks Washington State University 2016
Stephanie Lee Mudge University of California-Davis 2016
Amy J. Binder, University of California, San Diego 2017
Sandra R. Levitsky, University of Michigan 2017
Elizabeth Popp Berman, University at Albany, SUNY 2018
Dana R. Fisher, University of Maryland 2018