Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Religion

Section on Religion

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws |

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Sociology of Religion is to encourage and enhance research, teaching, and other professional concerns in the study of religion and society. The Section seeks to promote communication, collaboration and consultation among scholars in the field of the sociology of religion.

This Section:

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair Omar M. McRoberts, University of Chicago
Chair-Elect Brian Steensland, IUPUI
Past Chair Elaine Howard Ecklund, Rice University
Secretary/Treasurer Gerardo Marti, Davidson College 2016

Section Council

Kraig Beyerlein, University of Notre Dame 2016
Paul R. Lichterman, University of Southern California 2016
Orit Avishai, Fordham University 2017
Genevieve Zubrzycki, University of Michigan 2017
Philip S. Gorski, Yale University 2018
Jenny Trinitapoli, University of Chicago 2018

 Nominations Committee:

 Elaine Howard Ecklund

 Book Award Committee:

Mary Ellen Konyzny (Chair)
Ziad Munson
Korie Edwards
Philip Schwadel
Mucahit Billici

 Distinguished Article Award Committee:

Dawne Moon (Chair)
Ryon Cobb
Landon Schnabel

 Student Paper Award Committee:

Patricia Herzog (Chair)
Kraig Beyerlein
Chris Graziul