Printer Friendly Version Of American Sociological Association: Section on Teaching and Learning

section logo

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws


Mission Statement

The purpose of the Section on Teaching and Learning is to provide a professional outlet for improving the teaching of sociology from the high school through graduate level. It encourages and facilitates innovative and effective pedagogy and research. The section offers two awards: the Hans O. Mauksch Award and the Carla. B. Howery Scholarly Contributions to Teaching and Learning Award.

Section Officers 2015-2016

Chair: Maxine P. Atkinson, North Carolina State University
Chair-Elect:Michelle A. Smith, Lakeland Community College
Past Chair: Kate Linnenberg, Beloit College
Section Secretary/Treasurer: Daina Cheyenne Harvey College of the Holy Cross 2018

Section Council

Rebecca Gronvold Hatch, Mt San Antonio College 2016
Patricia R. Hoffman, New Mexico State University 2016
Marybeth C. Stalp, University of Northern Iowa 2016
Michaela A. Nowell, University of Wisconsin-Fond du Lac 2017
Jan E. Thomas, Kenyon College 2017
Mary Nell Trautner, University at Buffalo, SUNY 2017
Alison S. Better, Kingsborough Community College, CUNY 2018
Stephanie Medley-Rath, Indiana University Kokomo 2018
Lissa J. Yogan, Valparaiso University 2018