The Section on Communication, Information Technologies, and Media Sociology Awards Recipients

CITAMS Award for Public Sociology

Prior to 2008 this award was for teaching or the design of a computer application.
Year Name Affiliation Other

Jessie Daniels


Zeynep Tufekci

University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill  

Shelia Cotten

University of Alabama, Birmingham  

Wade, Lisa and Gwen Sharp

Occidental College and Nevada State College Sociological Images.  (

Lee Rainie

  Pew Research Center’s Internet & American Life Project  
2010 Danah Boyd   Microsoft Research and Berkman Center  
2009 Peter Kollock University of California- Los Angeles  
2008 Michael Macy, Cornell University  
2007 Keith Hampton, University of Pennsylvania  
2006 Marc Smith, Microsoft Research  
2005 Stephen Borgatti Boston University  
2004 Earl Babbie Chapman University  
2002 Robert Wood Rutgers University, Camden  
2001 Gregg Lee Carter Bryant College  
2000 Alan Hill Delta College  
1998 Kenneth Stewart Angelo State University  
1997 J. Daniel Cover Furman University  
1995 Fred S. Halley State University of New York  
CITAMS Outstanding Student Paper Award
Year Name Affiliation Title
2015 Christine Larson Department of
Communication, Stanford University
“Live publishing: the onstage redeployment
of journalistic authority” which will soon
appear in Media, Culture, & Society.
2014 Angèle Christin Princeton University

“Counting Clicks: Commensuration in Online Journalism in the United States and France.”

2013 Jeffrey Lane Princeton University

"Code Switching on the Digital Street"

2012 Ya-Wen Lei University of Michigan

"Institutional-social Embeddedness of the Public Sphere: Media, Law, Networks, and the Heterogeneous Development of the Public Sphere in China"

2011 Dmitry Epstein Cornell University

"Who's Responsible for the Digital Divide? Public Perceptions and Policy Implications." co-authored with Erik Nisbet and Tarleton Gillespie. Published in 2011 in "The Information Society" 27(2), 92-104.

2010   Lauren F. Sessions   University of Pennsylvania "How offline gatherings affect online communities: When virtual community members 'meetup'".
2009 Daniel Menchik and Ziaoli Tian University of Chicago “Putting Social Context into Text: The Semiotics of E-mail Interaction.” American Journal of Sociology 114(2) 332-370 (2008)
2008 Co. Steven G. Hoffman, Northwestern University  
2008 Co. Alison Powell, Concordia University  
2007 Lee Humphries, University of Pennsylvania  
2006 Fred Turner Stanford University “Where the Counterculture Met the New Economy: The WELL and the Origins of Virtual Community”
2005 Laura Robinson Sean Zehnders (Best Student Software Award) University of California-Los Angeles Northwestern University The Social Network Spider and Visualization Software (SNS-VS)
2004 Jeffrey Boase University of Toronto  
2003 Tracy Kennedy and Kristine Klement University of Toronto "Gendering the Digital Divide"
2002 Julian Dierkes University of British Columbia “The Sociolog: Julian Dierkes’ Comprehensive Guide to Sociology On-Line
2001 Eszter Hargittai Princeton University “Weaving the Western Web”
2000 Pablo Boczkowski Cornell University “Mimetic Originality: Technology, Newswork, Organizing in an Online Newspaper”
1999 Pablo J. Boczkowski Cornell University “Distributed Construction: Changing Regimes of Information Creation in Online Newspapers”
1997 Pablo Boczkowski Cornell University “The Mutual Shaping of Users and Technologies In and Through Computer-Mediated Communication: Artifacts of Nationhood in the Argentine Mailing List”


CITAMS William F. Ogburn Career Achievement Award
Year Name Affiliation Other

Grant Blank

Oxford Internet Institute  

William Dutton

Oxford Internet Institute  

Judy Wajcman

The London School of Economics and Political Science  

Ron Anderson

University of Minnesota Professor Emeritus

James E. Katz

Rutgers University  
2010   John Robinson Sociology Department, University of Maryland.  
2009 Elihu Katz University of Pennsylvania  
2008 William Sims Bainbridge, National Science Foundation  
2007 David Lyon, Queen's University  
2006 Manuel Castells, University of Southern California  
2004 Barry Wellman, University of Toronto  
2003 Caroline Hodges Persell, New York University  
CITAMS Book Award
Year Name Affiliation Title of Book
2015 Susan Crawford  

2013. Captive Audience: The Telecom Industry and Monopoly Power in the New Gilded Age. New Haven, CT: Yale
University Press.

2014 Lee Rainie and Barry Wellman PEW Research Center and University of Toronto

Networked: The New Social Operating System (MIT Press, 2012).

2013 Co-Winner Gina Neff University of Washington

Venture Labor. (MIT Press, 2012)

2013 Co-Winner Yuri Takhteyev University of Toronto

Coding Places. (MIT Press, 2012)


Leah Lievrouw

University of California- Los Angeles 2011. Alternative and Activist New Media. Polity Press.
2011 Pablo Boczkowski   News at Work: Imitation in an Age of Information Abundance (University of Chicago Press, 2010).
2010 Guobin Yang   The Power of the Internet in China Citizen Activism Online, Columbia University Press, 2009.
2008 Co. Yochai Benkler, Harvard University The Wealth Of Networks: How Social Production Transforms Markets and Freedom (2006, Yale University Press)
2008 Co. Fred Turner, Stanford University (Special Mention) From Counterculture to Cyberculture. 2006, Chicago University Press
2007 Andrew Chadwick, University of London Internet Politics (2006)
2006 Philip Howard, University of Washington New Media Campaigns and the Managed Citizen (2006)
2005 Paul Starr, Princeton University The Creation of the Media (2004)
CITAMS Paper Award
Year Name Affiliation Title
2015 Goulet Hampton & Albanesius  

“Change in the Social Life of Urban Public
Spaces: The Rise of Mobile Phones and
Women, and the Decline of Aloneness Over
Thirty Years.” Urban Studies.

2014 Christopher Bail University of California – Chapel Hill,

(2012) "The Fringe Effect: Civil Society Organizations and the Evolution of Media Discourse about Islam since the September 11th Attacks." ASR 77(6): 855-879.

2013 Shelley Boulianne MacEwan University

2011. "Stimulating or Reinforcing Political Interest: Using Panel Data to Examine Reciprocal Effects Between News Media and Political Interest."  Political Communication. Volume 28 (2): 147-162.

2012 Robert Ackland and Mathieu O'Neil   2011. "Online collective identity: The case of the environmental movement." Social Networks, 33(3): 177-190.
2011 Hampton, Keith N., Oren Livio and Lauren Sessions Goulet.   2010. “The Social Life of Wireless Urban Spaces:  Internet Use, Social Networks, and the Public Realm” Journal of Communication 60: 701-722.
2010 James A. Evans University of Chicago 2008. “Electronic Journals and the Narrowing of Science and Scholarship,” Science 321: 395-399.
2009 Eszter Hargitta, Jason Gallo and Matthew Kane Northwestern University “Cross-ideological discussions among conservative and liberal bloggers.” Public Choice 134: 67-86 (2008
2008 Paul Leonardi, Northwestern University  
2007 Laura Robinson, University of Southern California  
2006 Fred Turner, Stanford University  
2005 Co. Daniel Beunza, and David Stark, Unversitat Pompeu Fabra and Columbia University  
2005 Co. Siobhan O'Mahony, Harvard Business School  


CITAMS Outstanding Contributions to Research Award

Year Name Affiliation Other
2006 Manuel Castells Universitat Oberta de Catalunya  
1999 Edward E. Brent, Jr. University of Missouri, Columbia  
CITAMS Outstanding Lifetime Contributions to Computing
Year Name Affiliation Other
2004 Barry Wellman University of Toronto  
2003 Caroline Hodges Persell New York University  
2000 William E. Feinberg University of Cincinnati  
CITAMS Outstanding Contribution to Computing in Sociology
Year Name Affiliation Other
2001 Kathleen M. Carley Carnegie-Mellon University  
1998 John Seidel    
1995 David Heise Indiana University