Collective Behavior and Social Movements Call for Awards Nominations

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

 

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award

Deadline: 3/1/2016

Anyone without a PhD in 2015 is considered a student, and any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2015 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible. A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair. This award includes a $500 prize. Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2016

Committee:
Kenneth Andrews (Chair), kta@unc.edu
Drew Halfman, dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu
Catherine Corrigall-Brown, corrigall.brown@ubc.ca
Robert Braun, rb529@cornell.edu

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award

Deadline: 3/1/2016

Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2015 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair. Send a copy of the article electronically to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2016

Committee
James Jasper (Chair), JJasper@gc.cuny.edu
Neal Caren, neal.caren@unc.edu
Elizabeth Borland, Borland@tcnj.edu
Justin Farrell, justin.farrell@yale.edu

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award

Deadline: 3/1/2016

Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2015. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair. Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2016

Committee
Belinda Robnett (Chair), brobnett@uci.edu
The University of California, Irvine,
Department of Sociology,
School of Social Sciences,
3151 Social Science Plaza,
Irvine, CA. 92697-5100)

Lee Ann Banaszak, lab14@psu.edu
Department of Political Science,
The Pennsylvania State University,
319 Pond Laboratory,
University Park, PA 16802

Edward Walker, walker@soc.ucla.edu
UCLA, 264 Haines Hall,
Department of Sociology,
Los Angeles, CA 90095

Katrina Kimport, Katrina.Kimport@ucsf.edu
(UCSF-ANSIRH,
1330 Broadway, Suite 1100,
Oakland, CA 94612

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Dissertation Award

Deadline: 3/1/2016

The ASA Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements invites submissions for its annual Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Dissertation Award. Any doctoral dissertation completed (i.e. successfully submitted, defended, and approved) in calendar year 2015 is eligible. Only nominations from the student’s dissertation chair or co-chair will be accepted. Self-nominated submissions will not be considered. Nomination letters should not exceed two typed pages in length. The nomination letter should be accompanied by the dissertation in electronic form. Please direct all questions to the committee chair. This award includes a $1,000 prize. Send a copy of the nomination letter and dissertation to each of the committee members by March 1, 2016.

Committee

Wayne Santoro, wsantoro@unm.edu
Tanya Saunders, saunders.425@osu.edu
Steven Boutcher, boutcher@soc.umass.edu

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS