Collective Behavior and Social Movements Call for Awards Nominations

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws

 

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Mayer N. Zald Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Student Paper Award

Anyone without a PhD in 2013 is considered a student, and any paper (published or unpublished) written in 2013 by a student or students (i.e., no PhD coauthors) is eligible.  A previously submitted paper may be resubmitted only if significantly revised.  Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members. No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  This award includes a $250 prize.  Send a copy of the paper electronically to each of the committee members by March 1, 2015:

Mayer Zald Outstanding Graduate Student Paper Award:  Belinda Robnett (chair), brobnett@uci.edu; Manisha Desai, manisha.desai@uconn.edu; Elizabeth Borland, Borland@tcnj.edu; Jonathan Horowitz, jonathanhorowitzresearch@unc.edu

 

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Article Award

Articles and chapters from edited books with publication dates of 2013 are eligible. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send a copy of the article electronically to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2015:

Best Published Article AwardEdwin Amenta (chair), ea3@uci.edu; Lee Ann Banaszak, lab14@psu.edu; Drew Halfmann, dhalfmann@ucdavis.edu; Doron Shultziner, doron.shultziner@mail.huji.ac.il.

 

Section on Collective Behavior and Social Movements Charles Tilly Distinguished Contribution to Scholarship Book Award

Section members, authors, or publishers may nominate books with publication dates of 2013. Authors may submit their own work, or nominations may be made by section members or publishers.  No lengthy nominating letters please, and please send all questions to the committee chair.  Send or have publishers send a copy of the book to each member of the prize committee by March 1, 2015:

Charles Tilly Award for Best Book: James M. Jasper (chair), jjasper@gc.cuny.edu (The Graduate Center, Sociology, 365 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10016); Rachel Kutz-Flamenbaum, rflamenb@pitt.edu (University of Pittsburgh,Department of Sociology,2400 Wesley, Posvar Hall,Pittsburgh, PA 15260); Catherine Corrigall-Brown, corrigall.brown@uwo.ca (Department of Sociology, University of Western Ontario, Social Science Centre Room 5331, London, Ontario, Canada, N6A 5C2); Isaac Martin, iwmartin@ucsd.edu (Department of Sociology, University of California, San Diego, 401 Social Science Building, 9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, CA 92093-0533)

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS