Sociology of Education Call for Awards Nominations

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Webpage | Bylaws



The Sociology of Education Doris Entwisle Early Career Award

This award will be given every other year (beginning in 2015) to a member of the Sociology of Education section who is no more than five years since PhD at the time of nomination, and who has made outstanding scholarly contributions to the sociology of education field. Nomination packets should include a letter of nomination,  the nominee’s CV, and sample writings (either sent as attachments or with links to online sources). Please send the nomination packet to the Award Committee Chair Claudia Buchmann, The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2015.

** Please note that the Early Career Award alternates every other year with the Willard Waller award for Lifetime Achievement. The Waller Award will be given again in 2016.**


The Sociology of Education David Lee Stevenson Award for Outstanding Graduate Student Paper 

This award is for the outstanding graduate student paper in the field of sociology of education in 2013 or 2014.  The author (or first author) must be a graduate student at the time of submission for the award, and all authors must have been graduate students when the paper was written. The paper may be unpublished, under review, accepted, forthcoming, or published (in 2013 or 2014).  Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic copy of the nominated paper to the Award Committee Chair John Diamond, The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2015


The Sociology of Education James Coleman Award for Outstanding Article

This award is for the outstanding article in the field of sociology of education published in 2013 or 2014.  Please send a letter of nomination and an electronic copy of the nominated article to Award Committee Chair Grace Kao,  The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2015.


The Sociology of Education Pierre Bourdieu Award for Outstanding Book

This award is for the best book in the Sociology of Education published in 2013 or 2014. Please send a letter of nomination and copies of the book (either print version or PDF) to all committee members at the addresses listed below. Any questions regarding the award should be directed to the Award Committee Chair Pamela Barnhouse Walters,  The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2015.

 The Pierre Bourdieu Award Committee is comprised of five members:


Pamela Barnhouse Walters (chair)
Ballantine Hall 744

1020 E. Kirkwood Ave.

Bloomington, IN, 47405



Maggie Frye

34 Ash St. Apt. 203

Cambridge, MA 02138

Mitchell Stevens

Stanford Graduate School of Education
485 Lasuen Mall

Stanford, CA 94305-3096


Maia Cucchiara

Associate Professor of Urban Education

College of Education

Temple University

1301 C. B. Moore Ave, Ritter Hall 446

Philadelphia, PA 19122

Jennifer Jennings

Assistant Professor of Sociology

New York University
295 Lafayette Street, 4th Floor
NY, NY 10003