Section on Sociology of Law

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws

Mission Statement

The ASA Sociology of Law Section provides a forum for intellectual and personal exchange among sociologists interested in the study of law, legal institutions, and law-related structures and processes. The Section sponsors two sessions and a series of roundtables at the ASA annual meetings, and offers various awards, including a best student paper award every year. It further provides an e-mail list for any announcements of interest to sociologists of law and offers a mentor program for junior faculty.

Section Officers 2013-2014

Chair Ryken Grattet
Chair-Elect Kathleen E. Hull University of Minnesota
Past Chair David John Frank University of California, Irvine Section
Secretary/Treasurer Nancy Reichman University of Denver

Section Council

Rachel Kahn Best University of Michigan 2014
Fiona M. Kay Queen's University 2014
Nancy Reichman University of Denver 2014
Elizabeth Heger Boyle University of Minnesota 2015
Erik W. Larson Macalester College 2015