Mathematical Sociology Section Call for Awards Nominees Statement

Section Introduction | Call for Awards | Award Recipients | Section Website | Bylaws | Blog

 

Mathematical Sociology Outstanding Dissertation in Progress Award

Deadline: 2/1/2016

This award provides a grant of $1,500 to meet some of the scholarly expenses of a student whose dissertation employs mathematics in an interesting, imaginative or ingenious way to advance sociological knowledge. The applicant should submit a copy of his or her approved dissertation proposal, with a list of any requirements added by the graduate committee. The packet should also include a letter of support from the student’s sponsor, which describes the student’s qualifications for the completed task and the potential importance of the project. The requirements include membership in the ASA and the mathematical sociology section during the period to be covered by the grant. Please send a copy of the dissertation proposal and a nomination letter by February 1, 2016 to:

Committee:

Chair: Matthew Brashears (brasheam@mailbox.sc.edu)

Members:
Matt Salganik (mjs3@princeton.edu)
Jacob Dijkstra j.dijkstra@rug.nl
Marcel Van Assen  m.a.l.m.vanassen@uvt.nl
Joseph Whitmeyer  jwhitmey@uncc.edu

Mathematical Sociology Outstanding Article Publication Award

Deadline: 2/1/2016

This award honors an article that has made an outstanding contribution to mathematical sociology. Eligible articles must have been published during the three years prior to the award year. Please send a copy of the article and a nomination letter by February 1, 2016 to:

Committee:

Chair: Kitts, James A. <jkitts@soc.umass.edu>

Members:
Elizabeth E. Bruch ebruch@umich.edu
Lincoln Quillian l-quillian@northwestern.edu
Gianluca Manzo gianluca.manzo@cnrs.fr
Carter Butts buttsc@uci.edu

Mathematical Sociology Graduate Student Paper Award

Deadline: 2/1/2016

This award is presented for the best paper written by a graduate student that makes a significant contribution to mathematical sociology. Papers can be published or unpublished. The submission can consist of a dissertation chapter, but not the entire dissertation. The submission must have been written or published during the three years prior to the award year. The author/first author must be a graduate student at the time of submission, and all authors must be graduate students when the paper was written. Nominations and self-nominations are welcome. Please send a copy of the paper and a nomination letter by February 1, 2016 to:

Committee:

Chair: James Montgomery jmontgom@ssc.wisc.edu

Members:
Eugene Johnsen johnsen@math.ucsb.edu
Michael Lovaglia michael-lovaglia@uiowa.edu
Katie Corcoran kecorcoran@mail.wvu.edu
Alison Bianchi alison-bianchi@uiowa.edu

 

Mathematical Sociology Harrison White Outstanding Book Award

Deadline: 2/1/2016

This award honors the book that has made an outstanding contribution to mathematical Sociology. Eligible books must have been published in the four years prior to the award year. Nominations must come from members of the American Sociological Association. Nominations and self-nominations are welcome. Please send a copy of the book and a nomination letter by February 1, 2016 to:

Committee:
Delia Baldassarri
delia.b@nyu.edu
Delia Baldassarri
295 Lafayette Street NYU, Sociology Department,
4th floor New York, NY, 10012

Members:

Amir Goldberg (amirgo@stanford.edu)

Address: Stanford Graduate School of Business,
Knight Management Center,
655 Knight Way,
Stanford, CA 94305

Kenneth Land
kland@soc.duke.edu
Sociology, 347 Soc-psych,
Durham, NC 27708

Kazuo Yamaguchi
kyamagu@uchicago.edu
Department of Sociology, University of Chicago,
1126 East 59th Street,
Chicago, Illinois 60637

Tom Snijders
tom.snijders@nuffield.ox.ac.uk

Department of Sociology,
Grote Rozenstraat 31, 9712
TG Groningen, The Netherlands

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS