Organizations, Occupations, and Work Call for Awards Nominations


The Organizations, Occupations and Work Section's Max Weber Award

The Max Weber Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to scholarship on organizations, occupations, and/or work in a book published within the last three years (2012-14). A book may be nominated by its author(s), or by its publisher, or by any ASA member. To nominate a book, send (1) a copy of the book, and (2) contact information for the nominee (including an email address) to each member of the selection committee at the addresses below. Nominations, including copies of the book, must be received by all committee members no later than March 31, 2015.

The Contact for the 2015 Weber Award Committee is:

Ofer Sharone (chair), Institute for Work and Employment Research, MIT Sloan, 100 Main St., Bldg. E62-340, Cambridge, MA, 02142-1347, osharone@mit.edu

Beth Bechky, Dept of Management and Organizations, Stern School of Business, New York University, New York, NY, 10012, bbechky@stern.nyu.edu

Nicole Biggart, Graduate School of Management, University of California, Davis, Davis, CA, 95616, nwbiggart@ucdavis.edu

Gabriel Rossman, Department of Sociology, University of California, Los Angeles, 287 Haines Hall, Los Angeles, CA, 90095-1551, rossman@soc.ucla.edu


The Organizations, Occupations and Work Section's Thompson Award

The James D. Thompson Award is given for an outstanding graduate student paper on organizations, occupations, and work written in the three years prior to the award (January 1, 2012 through December 31, 2014). The winner receives $500 for travel to a professional meeting and, if he or she remains a student, serves as a representative to the Section Council in the coming year. The nomination deadline is March 31, 2015. Authors may nominate themselves or section members may do so. To nominate a paper, send (1) a PDF file of the paper or a functioning URL where it can be accessed, (2) a letter (PDF, Word) justifying the nomination, and (3) contact information for the nominee (including email) to each member of the selection committee.

The Contact for the 2015 Thompson Award Committee is:

Carol Caronna (chair), Dept of Sociology, Anthropology, and Criminal Justice, Towson University, 8000 York Rd., Towson, MD, 21252-0001, ccaronna@towson.edu

Russell Funk, Dept of Strategic Management and Entrepreneurship, Carlson School of Management, University of Minnesota, 321 19th Ave., S., # 3-354, Minneapolis, MN, 55455, rfunk@umn.edu

Catherine Turco, Sloan School of Management, MIT, Cambridge, MA, 02142, cturco@mit.edu


The Organizations, Occupations and Work Section's W.Richard Scott Award

The W. Richard Scott Award for Distinguished Scholarship is granted for an outstanding contribution to the discipline in an article on organizations, occupations and work published within the last three years. The committee will accept nominations for papers published any time from January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2014. The deadline for nominations is March 31, 2015. Authors may nominate themselves, or section members may do so. To nominate a paper, send (1) a PDF file of the paper or a functioning URL where it can be accessed, (2) a letter (PDF, Word) justifying the nomination, and (3) contact information for the nominee (including email) to each member of the selection committee.

2015 Award Committee

Martin Ruef (chair), Department of Sociology, 334 Soc/Psych Bldg., Duke University, Durham, NC, 27708-0088, martin.ruef@duke.edu

Elisabeth Clemens, Department of Sociology, University of Chicago, 1126 East 59th St., Chicago, IL, 60637, clemens@uchicago.edu

Brayden King, Dept of Management and Organizations, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University, 2001 Sheridan Rd., Evanston, IL, 60208, b-king@kellogg.northwestern.edu

 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS