Theory Section Call for Awards Nominations


The Theory Section's Theory Prize (Book in 2016)

The Theory Prize is given to recognize outstanding work in theory.  In even-numbered years, it is given to a book, and in odd-numbered years, to a paper; in both cases, eligible works are those published in the preceding four calendar years.  This year the Prize will go to a book published during 2012, 2013, 2014 or 2015. To be considered for the award, a nominating letter must be sent by email to the chair of the committee by March 1, 2016. In addition, nominated books must be sent to the listed physical addresses of all five committee members, postmarked no later than March 15, 2016. Self-nominations are welcome.

Chair: Isaac Ariail Reed (
Department of Sociology
327 UCB
Boulder, CO 80309


Laura Ford
c/o Melissa Germano
Fairbairn 207
Bard College Sociology Program
P.O. Box 5000
Annandale-on-Hudson, NY 12504-5000

Simonetta Falasca-Zamponi
Department of Sociology
University of California
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-9430

Fiona Greenland
5701 S. Woodlawn Ave.
Neubauer Collegium
University of Chicago
Chicago, IL 60637

Paul McLean
Department of Sociology
Rutgers University
26 Nichol Avenue
New Brunswick, NJ  08901-2882


The Theory Section's Junior Theorist Award

The Junior Theorist Award honors the best paper each year submitted by an early-career sociologist.  Self-nominations are invited by scholars who have received the Ph.D. but who, at the time of nomination, are not more than eight years beyond the calendar year in which the Ph.D. was granted. Nominations should consist of one article written or published in the 12 months preceding the nominations deadline and a letter explaining how the paper advances sociological theorizing.

The winner will present a keynote address at the Junior Theorists Symposium the year after the award is given (2017). Please submit the article electronically to the committee members at the email addresses below by March 1, 2016.

Chair: Claudio Benzecry, Northwestern University (


Kieran Healy, Duke University (
Steve Hoffman, University of Buffalo (
Brayden King, Northwestern University (
Michael W. Raphael, Graduate Center, CUNY (

The Theory Section's Edward Shils-James Coleman Memorial Award for Best Student Paper

The Shils-Coleman Award recognizes distinguished work in the theory area by a graduate student. Work may take the form of (a) a paper published or accepted for publication; (b) a paper presented at a professional meeting; or (c) a paper suitable for publication or presentation at a professional meeting. Papers must be authored solely by graduate students or jointly by graduate student collaborators. Each year's selection committee has latitude in determining procedures for selecting the winner, including the option of awarding no prize if suitable work has not been nominated. The Shils-Coleman Award includes an award of $500.00 for reimbursement of travel expenses for attending the annual ASA meeting. Please submit the article electronically to each of the committee members at the email addresses below. Self-nominations are welcome. The deadline for submission is March 1, 2016.


Craig Rawlings, Northwestern University (

Matt Norton, University of Oregon (
Juan Pablo Pardo-Guerra, London School of Economics (
Vaughn Schmutz, UNC Charlotte (
Andrea Voyer, Pace University (

The Theory Section's Lewis A. Coser Award for Theoretical Agenda Setting

The ASA Theory Section seeks nominations for the Lewis A. Coser Award for Theoretical Agenda Setting. This prize is intended to recognize a mid-career sociologist whose work holds great promise for setting the agenda in the field of sociology. While the award winner need not be a theorist, her or his work must exemplify the sociological ideals that Lewis Coser represented, including resisting the fragmentation of sociology, maintaining the discipline's critical edge, and insuring the predominance of substance over method. Eligible candidates must be sociologists or do work that is of crucial importance to sociology. They must have received a Ph.D. no less than five and no more than twenty years before their candidacy. Nomination letters should make a strong substantive case for the nominee's selection and should discuss the nominee's work and his or her anticipated future trajectory. No self-nominations are allowed. After nomination, the Committee will solicit additional information for those candidates they consider appropriate for consideration, including published works and at least two additional letters of support from third parties. The Committee may decide in any given year that no nominee warrants the award, in which case it will not be awarded that year. Send nominations to the Chair of the Committee, John Mohr ( The deadline for submissions is March 1, 2016.


John Mohr, UC Santa Barbara, chair of ASA Theory Section, (

Marion Fourcade, UC Berkeley, previous year’s winner
Kathleen Gerson, New York University, Vice President-Elect of the ASA
David A. Smith, UC Irvine, President of the Society for the Study of Social Problems