Theory Section Call for Awards Nominations

 

Lewis A. Coser Award for Theoretical Agenda Setting

The ASA Theory Section gives an annual award called the Lewis A. Coser Award for Theoretical Agenda Setting. This prize is intended to recognize a mid-career sociologist whose work holds great promise for setting the agenda in the field of sociology. While the award winner need not be a theorist, her or his work must exemplify the sociological ideals that Lewis Coser represented. Eligible candidates must be sociologists or do work that is of crucial importance to sociology. They must have received a Ph.D. no less than five and no more than twenty years before their candidacy. Nomination letters should make a strong substantive case for the nominee's selection and should discuss the nominee's work and his or her anticipated future trajectory. No self-nominations are allowed. After nomination, the Committee will solicit additional information from nominees and others for those candidates they consider appropriate for consideration, including published works and at least two additional letters of support from third parties. The Committee may decide in any given year that no nominee warrants the award, in which case it will not be awarded that year. Send nominations to the Chair of the Committee, who is Robin Wagner-Pacifici (wagnerpr@newschool.edu). The deadline for submissions is February 15, 2014

Chair: Robin Wagner-Pacifici (wagnerpr@newschool.edu)

Members:
Anna Maria Santiago, President, Society for the Study of Social Problems, Case Western Reserve (anna.santiago@case.edu)
Ivan Ermakoff, ermakoff@ssc.wisc.edu
Cecilia Menjivar, Vice President, American Sociological Association (menjivar@asu.edu
 

The Edward Shils - James Coleman Memorial Award for Best Student Paper

The Edward Shils - James Coleman Memorial Award for Best Student Paper The Shils-Coleman Award recognizes distinguished work in the theory area by a graduate student. Work may take the form of (a) a paper published or accepted for publication; (b) a paper presented at a professional meeting; of (c) a paper suitable for publication or presentation at a professional meeting. Only papers authored by graduate students are eligible, i.e. no papers co-authored with faculty.  Each year's selection committee has latitude in determining procedures for selecting the winner, including the option of awarding no prize if suitable work has not been nominated. This year the Shils-Coleman Award includes an award of $750.00 for reimbursement of travel expenses for attending the annual ASA meeting.   Please submit the article electronically to the committee members at the email addresses below. Self-nominations are welcome. The deadline for submission is March 1, 2014.

The award committee for the Shils-Coleman Student Paper award is:

Chair: John R. Hall, University of California at Davis (jrhall@ucdavis.edu)

Members:
Matthew Norton, University of Oregon (mnorton@uoregon.edu)
Neha Gondal, Ohio State University (gondal.2@sociology.osu.edu)
Josh Pacewicz, Brown University (pacewicz@brown.edu)
Fiona Rose-Greenland, University of Michigan (frose@umich.edu)

The Theory Prize (Book in 2014) 

The Theory Prize is given to recognize outstanding work in theory.In even-numbered years, it is given to a book, and in odd-numbered years, to a paper; in both cases, eligible items are those published in the preceding four calendar years (2010, 2011, 2012, and 2013). Please send preliminary nominations to the Committee Chair by XXX, with copies to all Committee members. Formal nominations, together with the nominated books, must subsequently be sent to all Committee members. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominated papers must reach Committee members by March 1, 2014.

Chair: Lyn Spillman, University of Notre Dame (spillman.1@nd.edu)

Members -  J.I. Hans Bakker, University of Guelph (hbakker@uoguelph.ca)
                 Todd Goodsell, University of Utah (todd.goodsell@utah.edu)
                 Victor Lidz, Drexel University (victor.lidz@drexelmed.edu)
                 Omar Lizardo, University of Notre Dame (olizardo@nd.edu)

Junior Theorist Award

The Junior Theorist Award honors the best paper each year submitted by an early-career sociologist. Self-nominations are invited by scholars who have received the Ph.D. but who, at the time of nomination are not more than eight years beyond the calendar year in which the Ph.D. was granted. Nominations should consist of one article written or published in the 12 months preceding the nominations deadline and a letter explaining how the paper advances sociological theorizing. The winner will present a keynote address at the Junior Theory Symposium the year after the award is given. Please submit the article electronically to the committee members at the email addresses below by March 1, 2014.
Chair - Eleanor Townsley, Mt. Holyoke College (etownsle@mtholyoke.edu)
Members - Andy Clarno, University of Illinois at Chicago (aclarno@uic.edu)
                Mary Vogel, University of Manchester (mary.vogel@manchester.ac.uk)
                Paul McLean, RutgersUniversity (pmclean@sociology.rutgers.edu)


 

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINEES MUST BE REGISTERED MEMBERS OF THE ASA
TO BE CONSIDERED FOR SECTION AWARDS